Journal 1

I was tempted to write something this morning and I decided to try to write an essay. I’ve always wanted to know what an essay is and how to write one, so I tried to find any reading about it. It turns out that writing an essay is not an easy thing to do (for me, haha). I once asked a friend, “how do you write an essay?” (I feel like Gumshoe when he ask “how do you use logic?” or whatever the question is lol)

Well, she said that writing an essay is easy. Just pour what you think into it, she said. Maybe this is true to her, for she is a writer and writing an essay is now a skill. Based on what I read in:

http://learnonline.canberra.edu.au/mod/book/view.php?id=178430&chapterid=266

An essay is a piece of writing that methodically analyses and evaluates a topic or issue.  Fundamentally, an essay is designed to get your academic opinion on a particular matter.

Then, I think an essay contains an academic opinion of a person. It differs from personal opinion which is subjective and to write an essay, someone must ponder, analyse, evaluate, reflect, and do excessive study about the topic he/she wants to write.

And, this is it for today. I haven’t finished reading anyway (I’m still reading the first page lol), if I have another opinion on my mind I’ll post about it later.

Leave a Reply

